Frequently Asked Questions

How are French Immersion Programs different from French-language schools?

In a French-language school, students live and learn in French. Indeed, the experience is different from immersion programs. Immersion programs play a complementary role, increasing the number of anglophones proficient in French as a second language.

In French-language Schools, students not only learn all curriculum subjects in French, but are also fully intergated in a francophone environment where they can participate in many cultural activities and sports in French.

In French-language Schools, ALL classes except English are taught in French. Upon graduation, our students can expect to be highly proficient both in English and in French and be part of the francophone culture and community.

How can I support my child in a French School?

Many parents wonder how they will be able to support their children and prepare them for a French-language education if they don’t speak French. Most families in our schools have only one parent who speaks French. The most important factor that will have an impact on your child’s experience is your attitude.  Showing your child that you value the language and encouraging him to play in French and to live and experience the culture will help develop his sense of identity.

There are many small steps parents can take to ensure that the French language is prominent and valued in your home.

If you are French-speaking:

  • Speak French as often as possible
  • Attend preschool programs in French where available (Centre Grandir en français in Thunder Bay) or have playdates with other francophone families.
  • Give French a prominent place in your home, i.e.: television, radio, books, French conversation at the dinner table, etc.
  • Read to your child in French (15 minutes every day)
  • Play games with your child en français
  • Do daily activities in French, i.e. write your grocery list and notes to your children in French; record a French message on your answering machine, etc.
  • Speak up in public! Encourage your favorite hockey team in French!
  • Attend the PTA meetings and volunteer your help for school activities.

If you are English-speaking:

  • If you have a French-speaking partner, support him or her in using French at home.
  • Encourage the child’s francophone relatives to speak French with your child, even if you don’t understand.
  • Develop routines that include simple French, i.e. songs, nursery rhymes, counting to 5 before going to bed, etc.
  • Show your pride in speaking French: say Bonjour to your child’s French friends and learn to pronounce their names the French way.
  • Provide French music for your child to listen to at home or in the car. Try to learn the songs with them.

Will my child have access to School Bus Transportation?

School Bus Transportation is available for all students living in the municipalities and surrounding areas in which we have schools. We provide safe and efficient transportation for our students through the following transportation consortiums:

  1. Student Transportation Services of Thunder Bay for the Thunder Bay region
  2. East of Thunder Bay Transportation Consortiumor the areas of Greenstone (Longlac, Geraldton,and Nakina), Terrace Bay and Marathon.
  3. Northwestern Student Services Consortium for the areas of Ignace, Dryden and Red Lake.

How does the curriculum of French-language schools differ from that of English schools?

The Ministry of Education develops all of Ontario’s schools’ curriculum. The content and expectations are the same throughout the province. However, the curriculum for French-language schools is culturally appropriate and adapted to the francophone reality. Students in our schools learn Ontario’s curriculum entirely in French, in a French cultural setting. In our schools, English is taught from grade 4 to grade 12. In High School, students follow the same curriculum in their English class as the one delivered in English schools.

What if my child doesn’t speak French yet?

In areas such as Northwestern Ontario where French is not the predominant language, it can be difficult to create a francophone environment at home. Discussions regarding language usage at home often do not occur until it is time to choose a school for your child. This is very common and should not prevent you from giving your child the opportunity to learn both of Canada’s official languages.

If your preschool child does not speak or understand French, rest assured that he or she will be fully integrated and comfortable in our schools. Our teachers are trained and experienced in dealing with this reality and provide a warm and comfortable environment where your child will quickly become fluent in French.

Why an advertising campaign?

Many parents in Northwestern Ontario have the constitutional right to a French-language education for their child, but do not exercise this right. They may be unaware of this right or have been misinformed about the type of education their child could receive in a French-language school.

Some parents may think that their child would not learn English in a French-language school when in fact our students complete elementary and secondary school with the same level of English as students in English schools.

The CSDC des Aurores boréales has a legal responsibility to inform parents of their rights. This is why we deemed it necessary to launch an awareness campaign in order to reach parents who speak little or no French and inform them of their constitutional rights or explain how to go about acquiring these rights if they so desire.

Foire aux questions

Quelles sont les différences entre le programme d’immersion et les écoles de langue française?

Dans une école de langue française, l’élève apprend et vit en français. L’expérience vécue par l’élève est différente de celle des programmes d’immersion. Les programmes d’immersion jouent un rôle complémentaire en accroissant le nombre d’anglophones étudiant le français comme seconde langue.

Dans les écoles francophones, les élèves ne font pas qu’apprendre les différentes matières du curriculum en français, ils sont plongés dans un environnement francophone et peuvent participer à de nombreuses activités culturelles ou sportives en français.

Dans les écoles de langue française, toutes les matières sont enseignées en français sauf l’anglais. Lorsqu’ils obtiennent leur diplôme, les élèves possèdent un excellent niveau aussi bien en français qu’en anglais et peuvent s’identifier à la culture et à la communauté francophone.

Comment est-ce que je peux appuyer mon enfant dans une école française?

Beaucoup de parents se demandent comment ils vont être capables d’appuyer leur enfant et de les préparer à une éducation en français s’ils ne parlent pas français eux-mêmes.

Dans la plupart des familles de nos écoles, seul un des deux parents parle le français.

C’est votre attitude qui fera la différence et aura un impact considérable dans l’expérience de votre enfant. Montrer à votre enfant que vous valorisez la langue française et l’encourager à jouer en français et vivre la culture française, développeront son identité culturelle.

Il y a plusieurs façons pour les parents de s’assurer que la langue française est valorisée à la maison.

Si vous êtes francophone :

  • Parlez français le plus souvent possible
  • Participez aux programmes préscolaires en français (Centre Grandir en français à Thunder Bay) ou rencontrez d’autres familles francophones
  • Accordez une place importante au français à la maison en privilégiant par exemple les chaînes de télévision, les radios et les livres francophones ou en parlant en français lors des repas etc…
  • Faites la lecture à votre enfant en français (15 minutes par jour)
  • Jouez avec votre enfant en français
  • Faites des activités quotidiennes en français, comme par exemple écrire la liste des courses ou des notes pour votre enfant ou encore laissez un message téléphonique en français.
  • N’hésitez pas à parler français en public! Encouragez votre équipe de hockey favorite en français!
  • Participez aux rencontres du conseil d’école et soyez bénévoles pour des activités scolaires.

Si vous êtes anglophone :

  • Si votre conjoint est francophone, encouragez-le à parler français à la maison.
  • Encouragez la famille francophone de votre enfant à lui parler en français même si vous ne comprenez pas.
  • Développez des routines qui comportent du français de base comme des chansons, des comptines ou compter jusqu’à 5 avant d’aller se coucher etc…
  • Montrez votre fierté à parler français : dites « bonjour » aux amis francophones de votre enfant et apprenez à prononcer leur nom de la manière française.
  • Faites écouter de la musique française à votre enfant à la maison ou dans la voiture. Essayez d’apprendre les chansons avec lui.

Est-ce que mon enfant pourra bénéficier du transport scolaire?

Tous les élèves qui résident dans les municipalités de nos écoles ou leurs environs peuvent bénéficier du transport scolaire. Ce transport efficace et sécuritaire est offert par les consortiums de transport suivants :

  1. Services de transport scolaire de Thunder Bay pour Thunder Bay et sa région.
  2. Consortium de transport de l’est de Thunder Bay pour les régions de Greenstone  (Longlac, Geraldton,et Nakina), Terrace Bay et Marathon.
  3. Consortium des services scolaires du Nord-Ouest pour les régions d’Ignace, Dryden et Red Lake. 

Le curriculum des écoles françaises est-il différent de celui des écoles anglaises?

Le ministère de l’Éducation élabore le curriculum pour TOUTES les écoles de l’Ontario. Les attentes et les contenus d’apprentissage sont les mêmes dans les écoles de langue française et anglaise. Par contre, le curriculum du système français tient compte des éléments culturels francophones. L’élève apprend donc le curriculum en français dans un environnement culturel français. L’anglais y est enseigné de la 4e à la 12e année. Au secondaire, les élèves suivent les mêmes cours d’English, que les élèves des écoles de langue anglaise.

Que faire si mon enfant ne parle pas encore français?

Dans les régions comme le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario où le français n’est pas la langue dominante, il est difficile de créer un environnement francophone à la maison. Les discussions au sujet de la langue parlée à la maison ne surviennent souvent qu’au moment de faire le choix d’une école. Même si votre enfant d’âge préscolaire ne parle pas ou ne comprend pas le français, soyez rassurés, il se sentira complétement intégré et à l’aise dans nos écoles.

Nos enseignants sont spécifiquement formés en enseignement en milieu minoritaire et savent créer un environnement chaleureux et confortable dans lequel votre enfant pourra rapidement parler couramment le français.

Pourquoi une campagne publicitaire ?

Dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario, beaucoup de parents n’exercent pas leur droit à l’éducation de langue française pour leurs enfants. Plusieurs ne sont tout simplement pas au courant de leurs droits en éducation ou ont été mal informés sur le type d’éducation proposé par les écoles de langue française. Beaucoup pensent que leur enfant n’apprendrait pas l’anglais dans une école francophone alors qu’en réalité, nos élèves ont le même niveau d’anglais que les élèves des écoles anglophones.

Le CSDC des Aurores boréales a la responsabilité légale d’informer les parents de leurs droits. C’est pour cela que nous avons jugé important de lancer une campagne de sensibilisation pour informer les parents qui parlent peu ou pas français à la maison et leur expliquer comment ils peuvent acquérir ce droit s’ils le désirent.